Happy Birthday Great Grandmother

IMG_20150221_225019

Today was the birthday of my Great Grandmother Mary O’Connor. She was born February 21, 1895, in Bergen County New Jersey. She was the daughter of Irish immigrants John O’Connor of Sligo, Ireland and Mary Borris (Burrowes) of Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland.

Today I lit a candle to honor her and said a few words in her memory. We did not let the flame die all day we lit a new candle from the same flame before the candle burned out.

I had some thoughts about her today and here they are:

I look at the window and wonder as each snowflake falls, did it snow just like this one-hundred twenty years ago? The day you were born. I wish this window was a doorway into the past. I imagine you on the other side waiting. Your smile is like magic lighting up your face. My hands tremble as they reach out to you. There are no words our emotions say it all.

I love you!

The moment you were born, you brought us into existence with you.

Thank you!

Happy Birthday Great Grandmother.

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Great Grandmother

Add yours

  1. “The moment you were born, you brought us into existence with you.” That is so beautiful and true. It’s a profound thing to ponder, isn’t it. She would be proud of you.

  2. This was a lovely way to remember your great grand mother , Sligo is the next county to me , I often go shopping in the town of Sligo. The countryside in that county is particularly beautiful and the most magnificent Ben Bulben mountain is there, I have often remarked that if one lived within view of that mountain one would never want to leave, I just love it . There are many many lovely sights in Sligo and a very rich culture , many poets have written about it including William Butler Yeats . Your great grandmother would have loved the place of her birth and I am sure she passed on many stories through the years . A lovely post and tribute to her. Blessings to you and your loved ones from Kathy.

    1. Thank you so much. It sounds so magical. I am definitely coming for a visit soon. Ireland holds my heart both of my Grandmothers maternal lines are Irish. Mary passed down the gift of song. Grandma and ma sang too, as do I. I hope to record some of the folk songs someday.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

