What do you see?

     What do you see when you look at me? Just another woman; we’ve plenty to spare, all shapes, and sizes. They aren’t rare.
     What do you see when you look at me? Oh she’s a Mother with children, who cares. Most women are; show me something more scarce.
     What do you see when you look at me? A caucasion, she’s probably born with it all. She’ll never see injustice, or know what it’s like to fall.
     What do you see when you look at me? With that many kids, she’s probably slept around. She must be going crazy, with no Fathers to be found.
     What do you see when you look at me? A pretty face, damn those eyes. I had that, go on with those lies.
     What do you see when you look at me? Is there a target on my back? Do I have a price tag? What is it that I lack?
     If you allowed me to speak, to use my voice. You’d learn all about me, you’d have a choice.
     Looks are never what they seem, deep inside I’m just a human being.
     I’ve known injustice, violence, hate. Abuse, judgment, they don’t discriminate.
     Until you’ve walked a mile with another; don’t be so quick to judge a sister or a brother.
     We all bleed red, the words Ma would always say. They stick in my mind, like instant replay.

Written by: Josette Hansen
Pseudonym: Adinah Schramm
All work on this blog is protected by copyright ©2014

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

